Edwin Booth Award Ceremony Honoring Split Britches

The Edwin Booth Award was established in 1983 by the Doctoral Theatre Students Association to honor a person, organization, or company in recognition of their outstanding contribution to the New York City/American Theatre and Performance Community. Only students in the program nominate candidates and elect recipients. Named after the nineteeth-century actor who was also renowed for his intellect, the award promotes integration of the professional and academic theatre communities. This year’s awardee is the groundbreaking feminist theatre company Split Britches, who will be present to receive the award. Past honorees include: The Royal Shakespeare Company (83), Ellen Stewart (84), Joseph Papp (89), Arthur Miller (92), Richard Foreman (97), Tony Kushner (02), Paula Vogel (05), and Karen Finley (08). The Living Theater ( 09) and Charles Mee (10). Ceremony organized by Brad Krumholz (DTSA Second Vice President).

6:30 p.m., Thursday, April 5, 2012
Martin E. Segal Theatre
365 5th Avenue, New York, NY


About Split Britches

Split Britches was founded 30 years ago by Peggy Shaw, Lois Weaver and Deb Margolin. Since 1980 we have transformed the landscape of queer performance with our vaudevillian satirical gender-bending performance. Split Britches creates new forms by exploiting old conventions. It borrows from classical texts and popular myths, but its true sources are the details of everyday life. The work is personal, bordering on the private. It relies on moments rather than plot, relationships rather than story. It is about a community of outsiders, queers, eccentrics – feminist because it encourages the imaginative potential in everyone, and lesbian because it takes the presence of a lesbian on stage as a given.
This entry was posted in Current. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Edwin Booth Award Ceremony Honoring Split Britches

  1. Being There says:

    Fantastic, Deb,
    I remember the performance from years ago.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s